Pray, Pray, Pray!

It’s been quite a while since I’ve taken the time to write a real reflection. The summer and various other happenings has served as a distraction. So, in an attempt to make up for lost time I decided to take a whack at writing one. Here goes nothing!

A few days ago while doing my daily rosary I was pondering the significance of prayer. I had been reading some Medjugorje messages between decades to help me meditate when I began to think about prayer. In Scripture, the writings of saints, and just about every apparition of the Blessed Mother they all stress of the importance of prayer in our lives. Along with the practice of the Sacaraments and virtue, the Christian must nurture the interior life with prayer. It is like our telephone line to the Father; when we pray we communicate with Him and we’re open to Him.

May 30, 1985 – “Dear children! I call you again to prayer with the heart. Let prayer, dear children, be your every day food in a special way when your work in the fields is so wearing you out that you cannot pray with the heart. Pray, and then you shall overcome even every weariness. Prayer will be your joy and your rest. Thank you for having responded to my call.”

“Let prayer be your every day food…” “Prayer will be your joy and your rest…”

A lot went through my mind when I read those words. I thought about my daily conversion—because conversion never begins and ends in just one moment or day—and thought about the fruits of prayer in my life and around me. And what I came away with was both gratitude to the Father, and a better understanding of what Our Lady meant when she gave that message.why_me_god

To say that prayer is essential would be an understatement. Prayer is life, it’s oil for the lantern. It is strength when weary, consolation when distressed, water when thirsty, direction when lost, and joy when heartbroken. An empty heart becomes full in prayer, and is fortified with the knowledge that it is loved and cared for in a way nothing in this world could ever replicate.

I could say from experience that my day never goes right until I’ve prayed. Through joys and hardships prayer keeps the Christian grounded, maintain self-control and persevere. It truly is our every day food, as well as our armor against the enemy of the soul.

Put on the full armor of God so as to be able to resist the devil’s tactics. [Ephesians 6:11]e5870d891143828371e912dae5564387

August 8, 1985 – “Dear children! Today I call you especially now to advance against Satan by means of prayer. Satan wants to work still more now that you know he is at work. Dear children, put on the armor for battle and with the Rosary in your hand defeat him! Thank you for having responded to my call.”

We gain a lot from praying, and so do the ones around us who don’t. Our prayer reaches hearts and places we couldn’t imagine; loved ones, strangers, nations. The possibilities are endless, and often times these silent miracles are all without our knowing. Prayers never stop with us, they spread everywhere!

January 23, 1986 – “Dear children! Again I call you to prayer with the heart. If you pray with the heart, dear children, the ice of your brothers will melt and every barrier shall disappear. Conversion will be easy for all who desire to accept it. That is the gift which by prayer you must obtain for your neighbor. Thank you for having responded to my call.”

But what about when our prayer is dry or distracted? The answer: never give up, never quit. Don’t get discouraged. The enemy is always circling to get us to do something far less important and consequently more damaging to our lives. But resist, and keep at it because it means you’re on the right track. As St. Louis de Montfort once wrote, “there is more merit in praying when it is hard than when it is easy.”

To lay down our arms is to admit defeat, and the Father has sent Our Lady to tell us to take up our arms and fight! Keep on fightin’ the good fight, and “pray, pray, pray!”

294187b0-cb37-4d7f-8b4e-e36642792c17
Photo: MaryTV

 

 

 

