“I Pray And Fight For You…”

January 2, 2008 message from Our Lady of Medjugorje to Mirjana Dragicevic-Soldo:

“Dear children! With all the strength of my heart, I love you and give myself to you.

As a mother fights for her children, I pray and fight for you.

I ask you not to be afraid to open yourselves, so as to be able to love with the heart and give yourselves to others.

The more that you do this with your heart, the more you will receive and the better you will understand my Son and His gift to you.

Through the love of my Son and me, may you all be recognized. Thank you.”

With today being the feast of Our Lady of Guadalupe, Patroness of the Americas, I decided to reread the apparitions of Our Lady to Saint Juan Diego. As a child I was always fascinated by the story of this apparition, including Lourdes, and the miracles which took place that successfully converted many people as well as the difficulties the saints endured.

But what truly stuck with me early on the most was the tenderness and security Our Lady conveyed in those apparitions. She appeared and spoke as nothing more than a loving mother. And in Medjugorje, Fatima, La Salette, Garabandal, and others, the visionaries all testify the same.

Mothers protect, teach, nourish, nurture, love, and give their lives completely to their children. Our Lady did so for Jesus, and she continues to do the very same for us each instant. Which is why when reading the Guadalupe messages, I felt it greatly accompanied this Medjugorje message.

In the fourth Guadalupe apparition, Our Lady appeared to Juan Diego who was distraught over the discovery of his uncle’s illness. Knowing that his uncle hadn’t long to live, Juan Diego was on his way to make arrangements with a priest to grant his uncle his Last Rites. With that Our Lady said this to him:

“Hear me and understand well, my son the least, that nothing should frighten or grieve you. Let not your heart be disturbed. Do not fear that sickness, nor any other sickness or anguish. Am I not here, who is your Mother? Are you not under my protection? Am I not your health? Are you not happily within my fold? What else do you wish? Do not grieve nor be disturbed by anything. Do not be afflicted by the illness of your uncle, who will not die now of it. Be assured that he is now cured.”

This loving mother fights for us, prays for us, protects us, and most of all, loves us. We are truly in great hands! Her love is stronger than evil! And the love she possesses comes from the love of God Himself.

O woman clothed with the sun, come and do not delay. Amen.

